Celebrating 10 years of yoga teacher training!

4701 Auvergne Avenue | Suite 104 |  Lisle, IL 60532
(630) 968-3216     prairieyoga@comcast.net

Iyengar 1


This class is taught by:

Sharon Carter

Sharon Carter, Intermediate Junior 1 certified Iyengar teacher, began practicing yoga in 1997 to remedy chronic back and neck pain due to postural misalignment and sports related injuries. After considerable improvement, she realized that the key to health and well being lay in the regular practice of yoga. Since 1999, Sharon devoted countless hours studying with senior teachers to learn the methods of B.K.S. Iyengar and to share this knowledge with the yoga community. She is grateful to her main teachers Lois Steinberg and Chris Saudek as well as Patricia Walden, Manuso Manos, John Schumacher, Laurie Blakeney and Kathleen Wright. Sharon has an M.B.A. In Management, is married and a mom to 3 grown kids.

Maria Luisa Basualdo

Maria Luisa's teaching style draws both from the different yoga methodologies she has studied and also from her background as a modern dancer. After a severe injury, she decided to follow the path of yoga, which ultimately drew her to the Iyengar Yoga method. Her classes range from vigorous to restorative, and she enjoys working with all levels. Certified in the Iyengar yoga method in 2000, she has studied for more than a decade with senior Iyengar teachers such as: Marina Chaselon, Ramanand Patel, Lois Steingberg, Gabriel Halpern, John Schumacher, Patricia Walden, Manuso Manos, and the Iyengars themselves in Puna, India. She has also studied Ashtanga Yoga with Pattabhi Jois in Mysore, India, Indra Devi-style yoga in Buenos Aires and Jivamukti yoga in NYC.
This class is ideal for students new to yoga or new to the Iyengar method. Learn the fundamental yoga postures that you can practice for many years to come. You will learn basic movement principles so that you can perform standing poses, twists, simple inversions, light backbends and forward bends with intelligence and ease. Iyengar yoga emphasizes detail, precision and alignment to minimize the risk of injury or strain, making the postures accessible to all.

Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Jul 28 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Aug 04 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Aug 11 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Aug 18 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Maria Luisa Basualdo
  • Fri Aug 25 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Sep 01 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Sep 08 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Sep 15 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Sep 22 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Sep 29 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Oct 06 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Oct 13 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Oct 20 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Oct 27 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Nov 03 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Nov 10 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Nov 17 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter
  • Fri Nov 24 9:00 am - 10:15 am with Sharon Carter